- Books

When Eagles Burn #2020

When Eagles Burn September Germany is being pushed back across Europe but the war is not yet won A fanatical group within the Nazi hierarchy is determined to do whatever is necessary to tip the balance in the Fat

  • Title: When Eagles Burn
  • Author: JackHayes
  • ISBN: -
  • Page: 407
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • When Eagles Burn By JackHayes, September 1944 Germany is being pushed back across Europe but the war is not yet won A fanatical group within the Nazi hierarchy is determined to do whatever is necessary to tip the balance in the Fatherland s favour Their plan Pinpoint guided V2 rockets From across the seas, the Nazis will be able to hit a specific location with a large enough warhead to guarantee prSeptember 1944 Germany is being pushed back across Europe but the war is not yet won A fanatical group within the Nazi hierarchy is determined to do whatever is necessary to tip the balance in the Fatherland s favour Their plan Pinpoint guided V2 rockets From across the seas, the Nazis will be able to hit a specific location with a large enough warhead to guarantee precision assassinations Their first target Winston Churchill Captain Maddox is a veteran of Britain s Special Operations Executive He is sent behind enemy lines to Finland thwart this new menace But finding and stopping the Germans is just the first problem among many Will the local Finns, battling Soviet Russia, great him as friend or foe And what of the Red Army, who want the technology for themselves Worse still, Maddox quickly realises not everyone on his team wants him to make it through the war alive When Eagles Burn is the electrifying first book in the Maddox series A fast paced thriller in the style of Alistair McLean, Jack Higgins and Clive Cussler Another masterful thriller from Jack Hayes A precision guided bomb explodes in London, throwing the British high command into disarray But the threat comes not from Nazi Germany but from the trackless wastes and endless winter night of occupied Finland A team of hand picked soldiers is parachuted into the area with the most specific instructions and one simple objective But facing the armed might of both the Nazis and the Red Army isn t their only problem they have a traitor in their ranks, a man with his own very different agenda A gripping tale of heroism and treachery James Becker, author of The Lost Testament A cracking read Roger Hurn, author of Business is Murder A thriller in a class of its own Matt Lynn, author of the Black Ops series.

    • [MOBI] ↠ Free Read ✓ When Eagles Burn : by JackHayes ✓
      JackHayes

    1 thought on “When Eagles Burn

    1. fast paced, well researched, intelligently written WWII action For fans of Guns of Navarrone and Where Eagles Dare.

    2. Jack Hayes has created a thoroughly masterful hero in Maddox A clever story that grips you from the beginning and rip roars its way to the final climactic end like a hot knife through butter Thoroughly enjoyable escapism that once started, is quite difficult to put down.

    3. Wonderful prequel to the Maddox series of novels The author spares no detail and clearly understands the WWII action genre Quick paced and well written.

    4. This is the first book in the Maddox series It took me back to my younger years when the staple reading material for a group of lads was either the Victor comics or the Commando pocket books It begins well with a secret German device being used to try and target Winston Churchill An essential component of which are blue diamonds Captain Maddox and his team are tasked with disrupting operations at the Finnish diamond mine, where these gems can be found There is plenty of action, and skullduggery [...]

    5. What a fabulous read, I m a war thriller novice and I absolutely loved this book It s beautifully paced with detail and substance throughout and builds to a great crescendo of action at the end Jack Hayes writes battle scenes so well you feel every spray of gross blood and the torturous brutality of being in a war The characters are developed and engaging and, like any great series, it makes you eager to discover about them This is the beginning of a series about Maddox and I m looking forward [...]

    6. I loved the set up and initial opening scenes to this book, but from there it just went downhill The writing is often clumsy and packed with badly worded sentences And as if that wasn t enough, there were far too many spelling and grammatical mistakes I got about one third of the way through, hoping it would improve, but it didn t, so I gave up In fact, it s only due to my early enthusiasm that I even bothered to write a review Enough.

    7. Excellent book and it took me way back to my late childhood when I read Warlord comics, Commando books and then into my early adulthood when I read most of Alistair Maclean s books.A fast paced and full of action World War 2 story, well written and I look forward to reading of Captain Maddox s adventures.

    8. Silly and shallow but lots of fun, a brisk WW2 thriller with lots of two fisted action and derring do

    9. d.n f did not hold my interest, I read the first two chapters got up to go to the loo and completely forgot what I had just read.

    10. Action packed story of a group of commandos going into Findland to destroy a diamond mine that the Germans are using to get the very rare blue diamonds to make a device that heps V2 rockets pin point its target.

    11. I thought the book was pretty action packed from beginning to end The main character Maddox was very good in commanda little similar to Clint Eastwood characters I thought Maddox had an extremely interesting and thoughtful view of the realities of war is a dialogue found about 65% of the way in the book A bit of a drawback with some language usagebut I could read of this series and buzz through comments that I find unnecessary.

    12. This is an easy to read story set in WWII and features a commando raid on a mine in Finland being used by Germany to hunt for blue diamonds which are key to the production of a new weapon There is also a subplot of member s of the commando team being used to spy on and possibly plot against the leader, Captain Maddox The action scenes are well crafted and the overall story hangs together quite well The climatic struggle of Maddox to bring down the small plane being used by the escaping commander [...]

    13. ReasonableFor a free book you can t go wrong It felt rushed at times, a decent plot But the main character never gripped me enough to carry on with series With the group of soldiers sent away on their mission by the CO who put spy in their camp it was obvious the author took A little inspiration for the story from the great war film, Where Eagles Dare.

    14. GoodStimulating I that the language was controlled People do not need foul language to be entranced in a book Just well written Good plot Good guys are good I have reached my limit of bad guys with principles as hero s Thanks for not going there Mike Mass

    15. very clich d and very stiff upper lip, but not a hard read and with a bit of depth and back story at the end

    16. Paper back adventure bookSerious readers of war should stay away from this book it was believable most of the time but it had it too stupid to be true parts.

    17. This was a well crafted, exciting, intriguing read, full of action and adventures, if u love ww2, spec ops and action, it s a must read, I m off to buy the next one

    18. Worth the PriceA good read The action is fast paced, the story arc is good, but the final scene was a bit of stretch So read it and see if you agree with me about the ending

    19. When eagles burnGood read, will look at his other books to continue the story, look forward to the rest of the adventures

    20. Good WWII FictionQuick summer read with plenty of action behind enemy lines You won t be disappointed Hope to try other books by this author.

    21. Cleverly writtenGets you involved from the beginning and keeps you there to the end Punchy and and to the point Great.

    22. A cover quote from James Becker This one, I just had to get Good read Free too Led me to grab the rest of the series.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *